pySpoolerRenamer — or how to rename a file stream

PostImage

Photo by Ankush Minda on Unsplash

Hello my friend!

Working with large data streams and analyzing them, you face a problem determining the ownership of the file, its source, since 99% of all flows generate soulless electric machines.

Sometimes it can be difficult to determine where the sasder345asd.txt or 123_HDR-Tas.csv file came from (in fact, this is just a set of letters, in most cases the file names have a structured name, but this is still hard to read for a person).

Initially, the solution was a small set of bash scripts for elementary renaming of files, everything changed when the number of threads increased dramatically. And a deeper hierarchy of unloading directories appeared, for example:

before

vendor/filename

became

region/point_id/data_name/filename

and using scripts didn't help anymore.

As always, python came to the rescue, in a few hours a script was prepared that coped with this function. After going through several iterations of fixes, improvements and 2 years of work in production, I am ready to provide this utility to the public - pySpoolerRenamer

Comments

Comments powered by Disqus

pySpoolerRenamer — или как переименовывать поток файлов

PostImage

Photo by Ankush Minda on Unsplash

Доброго времени суток, мой дорогой друг!

Работая с большими потоками данных и их анализом, сталкиваешься с проблемой определения принадлежности файла, его источника, т.к. 99% от всех потоков генерируют бездушные электрические машины.

Порой бывает сложно определить откуда пришел файл sasder345asd.txt или 123_HDR-Tas.csv(на самом деле это просто набор букв, в большинстве случаев имена файлов имеют структурированное имя, но это все равно тяжело читать человеку).

Изначально решение было небольшой набор bash скриптов для элементарного переименования файлов, все изменилось когда количество потоков резко увеличилось. И появилась более глубокая иерархия каталогов выгрузки, например:

было

vendor/filename

стало

region/point_id/data_name/filename

и использование скриптов уже не помогало.

На помощь как всегда пришел python, за несколько часов был подготовлен скрипт который справлялся с данной функцией на ура. Пройдя несколько итераций исправлений, доработок и 2х лет работы в проде, я готов предоставить данную утилиту общественности, пользуйтесь и наслаждайтесь pySpoolerRenamer

Комментарии

Comments powered by Disqus